Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums (https://rennlist.com/forums/)
-   Racing & Drivers Education Forum (https://rennlist.com/forums/racing-and-drivers-education-forum-65/)
-   -   Plug for playing around with suspension settings (https://rennlist.com/forums/racing-and-drivers-education-forum/477075-plug-for-playing-around-with-suspension-settings.html)

M758 01-16-2009 01:06 PM

Plug for playing around with suspension settings

Ok guys,
I just want to put a plug in for playing around with suspension settings. I have been racing the same car for 6-7 years now. Over that time I have learned alot, but this past race weekend was an eyeopener for me.

I have been running our home track for years and back in 2002 I started racing there. In the first 2 years I would nearly always run faster each weekend. I hit a point where I ran one lap under 1:13 seconds. (1:12.9) It was a sort of peak of hitting a seeming un attainable number. I did not once, but around that time I would run other laps close to that.

Well then I took some time off from racing for family and stuff. I was still racing, but not as frequently. When I started back in 2005 I was just a bit off the pace I had prior. I put that down to being rusty. Well in the years since then I have been working getting in more races per year to pratice and trying to find that speed I had. I have been through alot of things and nothing seemed to work.

Well this past weekend I did something I should have done years ago. First step was to rebaseline the alignment and sway bars. I had recorded all my set-up, but never really changed it much. A little here and there, but I focued on driving. Well as I carefully when through it I notice some elements had drifted. I corrected them.