Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums (https://rennlist.com/forums/)
-   Racing & Drivers Education Forum (https://rennlist.com/forums/racing-and-drivers-education-forum-65/)
-   -   Are half cages really worth the time, money, effort? (https://rennlist.com/forums/racing-and-drivers-education-forum/475210-are-half-cages-really-worth-the-time-money-effort.html)

ninjabones 01-06-2009 05:35 PM

My cage has more padding than my stock A and B pillars did before the installation (a thin sheet of vinyl will do far less to cushion my head than the sfi high density cage padding). By lowering my seat and mounting it 2" closer to the tranny tunnel, my head position is now far further from my cage than it was from the roof and A/B pillars in the stock configuration. I'm not a safety expert, but I don't really see why there seams to be such passionate feelings about how reckless it would be to drive a car with a cage on the street.

Porsche917K 01-06-2009 06:04 PM

I should clarify that while a bolt in half cage is of course better than nothing, just get a true cage if you are concerned about a rollover.

333pg333 01-06-2009 07:19 PM

How much do you guys pay for a good custom cage? We get quoted stupid amounts out here. $7-$10k!
I do think I will have to relent however as I agree that nobody should have to put up with me in a wheelchair.

joseph mitro 01-06-2009 07:30 PM

quotes vary from $2000 US to $7000 US depending on type of cage, materials, builder, prep work, etc. I paid $2500 US for my initial cage, but since have added extra bracing and tubing that would have put the cost at more like $3500

as mentioned I would put in a full cage from the start

RedlineMan 01-06-2009 07:41 PM

Ha!