Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums (https://rennlist.com/forums/)
-   Racing & Drivers Education Forum (https://rennlist.com/forums/racing-and-drivers-education-forum-65/)
-   -   5 point harnesses (https://rennlist.com/forums/racing-and-drivers-education-forum/33140-5-point-harnesses.html)

patd 06-29-2001 01:56 PM

5 point harnesses

I'm a real newbie to this. Haven't even done my first DE yet! I want to buy a harness bar
for my 952 along with a pair of 5 point harnesses. Are all harnesses alike (other than cam or reg latch)? One brand the same as the other? :confused:

Info greatly appreciated. Any used ones out there? :D

addictionms 06-29-2001 04:11 PM

I have used several types of these, and here are some of my feelings

-becareful to get a pull down style not pull up,
-get ones that are adustable at both ends, the buckle end and the floormount end, all are adjustable at the shoulder mount point
-I like the cam lock style, but do not like the ones like TRW/Sabelt because the lever could get caught and unlatched, look at www.bellmotorsports.com for the cam lock style I like.
-get the extra shoulder pads if you can
-I like having the clip/eye bolt style attachment for the floor bolts, makes it easier to remove and therefore protect the belts from damage while working on the car.
-always get the same set up for your passanger, I will not ride in a car if I do not have the same level of safety as the drive (this means racing seat as well)

thats about all I can think of right now, if you want to get great advice, give the guy at www.bellmotorsports.com a call and ask away, he is very safety oriented and has helped me out a lot.

Jim

addictionms 06-29-2001 04:13 PM

one last thing, buying local is a good idea, as far as I can tell, manufacturers will not re-web anyone elses belts, so if the belts are made in the USA, it is a lot easier to get them re-webed if you ever need to.

E. J. - 993 Alumni 06-29-2001 04:34 PM