Sponsored by:

Shifting in Corners

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2002, 12:42 PM
camond
7th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post Shifting in Corners

I have been driving for many years now and I have always wondered why people say "You can't shift in corners?" I understand that if you are not smooth it will upset the car but as long as you match rev's then there should not be a problem. Anyone else have any ideas???
Old 11-14-2002, 12:58 PM
JC in NY
Burning Brakes

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Because you are usually accelerating like mad out of the corner.
Old 11-14-2002, 01:03 PM
Jim Michaels
Rennlist Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
I'm still trying to think of a place I'd prefer to shift in the corner rather than after I've slowed to enter the corner. Maybe you have a particular corner or situation in mind that I haven't considered. On a long increasing radius I can imagine shifting *up* before the front wheels are completely straightened coming out.
Old 11-14-2002, 01:29 PM
M758
Race Director

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Down shifting in a corner is bad since if you do not exacly match a gear change the back of the car will loose traction since should be at the cornering limit anyway. This will cause a spin. Bad News.

Much better to downshift in the braking zone when the car is straight just in case you are not 100% smooth. It that case the car will not spin on you.

There is one spot locally where I have to UP Shift out of corner since I run out of gear before I exit the turn. Again it can upset the balance of the car, but in this case it actually helps.