Notices
Racing & Drivers Education Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Proper Gear for Cornering -- Your thoughts?

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2007, 02:30 PM
TD in DC
Race Director

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Proper Gear for Cornering -- Your thoughts?

Some buddies of mine were talking about Summit Point and the "proper gear" for various corners.

As a very green newbie, I asked the same question about various tracks here, and the more experienced guys would rarely answer, and if they did, they would politely say that the question is "irrelevant."

Now I am in the position of trying to explain why to others. Here is my best shot (or at least my first try).

In order to drive well, you really have to manage only three basic things in a manner that preserves your car: 1) weight distribution; 2) torque/power band; and 3) track position.

If you do all three things well, then you will be fast.

If you do any one of them poorly, then you will be slow.

It is really that simple.

So, gearing "mostly" relates to torque/power band management. You should be constantly managing your rpms to ensure that you are as close as possible to the maximum power output for your car.

As you approach a corner, you must decide which gear will permit you to be closest to the ideal rpm range for corner entry, mid-corner, and corner exit.

You don't need to make that decision until you are coming up to the corner, and then your choice might be different from lap to lap depending upon your circumstances as you enter the corner . . .

The only caveat here is that you need to be very careful if you enter a corner near redline, because under those circumstances, your ability to manage weight by shifting it to the rear wheels is compromised, which can have disasterous results. As such, you might want to make sure that you have a little bit of a cushion so that you do not hit the rev limiter too soon before track out . . . you know . . .