Notices
Racing & Drivers Education Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Question for the pros - tire rolling off rim?

Old 09-03-2004, 11:46 AM
Larry Herman
Rennlist
Basic Site Sponsor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Question Question for the pros - tire rolling off rim?

Here's a question for all of you veteran racers. I started running the GT3 (to your left) in DE's this year. I have over 20 years of track experience and 6 years of club racing. I have never, ever had a flat, and yet in the last two events, Watkins Glen & Summit Point, I flatted the left rear after about 7 or 8 runs. There was plenty of rubber left on the tire, the temps were around 150 ~ 160 degrees and the pressures were at the recommended 33 psi. They are Pirelli P Zero Slicks. I checked them every session.

What would happen is that the left rear tire after working great, would start to feel like it was grinding in a right hand turn. Within 2 or 3 seconds it was flat; that quickly. Could I have rolled the tire off the bead due to the weight of the car? I never felt comfortable with 33 lbs, but Bob Woodman says that it is right and the tire wear and temps back this up. There were no obvious punctures, but the inside of the tire got ripped up when it deflated.

No one else in GT3s running the Pirellis is having this problem, but I am running about 2 seconds faster than the next quickest guy. Any thoughs or experiences anyone?
Retired Club Racer & National PCA Instructor
Past Flames:
1994 RS America Club Racer
2004 GT3 Track Car
1984 911 Carrera Club Racer
1974 914/4 2.0 Track Car

CLICK HERE to see some of my ancient racing videos.

Old 09-03-2004, 12:50 PM
924RACR
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 68 Likes on 56 Posts