Sponsored by:

Besides a full out race car what is the safest way to DE

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-2019, 09:17 PM
Otto Mechanic
Rennlist Member

Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts

Originally Posted by LuigiVampa
Who do you think makes the rules and how do you think the rules are made? What data do you think is used?

If you think some of these important decisions are made much differently than the debate we are having on this thread you would be wrong. Talk to some of the PCA honchos and ask them how they come up with the rules. It's a bunch of people from different zones and regions debating like we are right now.
Please don't misunderstand; I didn't say we weren't the folks to make the rules. I said "We're in no position to make rules". That comes from a background of making rules myself. I suppose you could say I have rules about making rules and I'd expect a laugh when I said it.

My background is in measurement and reliability theory; risk management is another application of the same thing. How does one objectively assess risk? What are the things a person needs to know? How do you do it without just expressing your opinion (which is admittedly something that's done regardless of objectivity)?

What data do we need? To start we need exposure time; no assessment of safety or reliability of any system, part, procedure, practice, etc. makes any sense in the absence of an exposure time measure; we must first know how much exposure the subject has to any risk we're studying. It's a fundamental measure and without it nothing else works. In this model, we assume incident frequency is a function of exposure time. It's important to remember that assumption since there's no solid evidence to support it. It's typically binary; we know that if you don't do something, it likely can't hurt you, but we don't really know if the function is linear, non-linear, stochastic, or maybe something else entirely. In truth, we know nothing about the shape of risk.