Sponsored by:

What Should I Know Re: Tracking 09 Cayman PDK

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2018, 12:34 PM
mwest
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What Should I Know Re: Tracking 09 Cayman PDK

I recently acquired an 09 Cayman S, PDK, Sport Chronos.
Plan is to keep it stock (no race seats, harnesses, roll bar, cage etc) and only upgrade tires and pads for track use.
I never time myself and not looking to eek out every 10th of a second. Out there just to have fun.
I'm an instructor and do about 35-40 track days per year.
My primary track car is a modified Z06 that I no longer trailer, I drive it to and hopefully from the track. And I still have my original track car which is a 1.6 Spec Miata that I do trailer when I use it.
I got the Cayman S because I like the car and the look of it and want to do track days and enjoy it on the streets. If I like it more then the Vette, I'd possibly sell the Vette.
But, I've not gotten used to no 3rd pedal.
I bought the car a few weeks ago in Fl and drove it home 15 hrs straight in non stop rain from the time I left Fl till I got to my driveway in NJ.
It gave me a chance to get comfortable with the car but the conditions did not permit me to fully utilize the Sport + mode.
And I've still not been able to fully utilize the Sport + mode on the streets either. We all know it's almost impossible to duplicate tack conditions on the streets and still keep your license.
My question is, what do I need to know about driving a PDK on the track.
Do I just put it in drive and sit back and relax?
I've read all the stuff about how efficient the PDK is but I'd like to hear from you guys that track a PDK and are their any nuances I need to be aware of?
Thanks
Old 12-28-2018, 02:27 PM
RichFL
Rennlist Member

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts