Sponsored by:

Track Insurance - How Much?

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2018, 07:27 AM
ldamelio
Rennlist Member

Received 894 Likes on 480 Posts
Default Track Insurance - How Much?

I realize that this is one of those personal risk tolerance issues and there is no right answer, but as a noob I am impressed by the collective wisdom here and value your input. What proportion of your car's value do you insure at the track? Heading to my first HPDE event at NJMP in a couple of weeks. It's a paced, no passing beginner event and from everything I can ascertain, about as low risk as one can get for HPDE. Car is a new 718CS, value about $78k. Fully covering it will run about $434 for the event. It's fully paid and if totaled, would't affect my personal finances or security in any meaningful way (assuming my body wasn't correspondingly totaled.) My common sense approach is to split the difference and insure for $25 - 30k for $170 - 190. That hits my comfort zone of not pi**ing away money on insurance but offering me some peace of mind. To give you an idea of my perspective, I've always looked at most insurance as legalized gambling with very poor returns. What do you guys do?
Old 05-05-2018, 10:13 AM
spruden
Racer

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

Originally Posted by ldamelio
I realize that this is one of those personal risk tolerance....Fully covering it will run about $434 for the event. It's fully paid and if totaled, would't affect my personal finances or security in any meaningful way
Looking at these two statements in isolation, I’d say just self insure and don’t buy the insurance. With no meaningful financial risk if a total loss then the decision is made for you.

Old 05-05-2018, 10:20 AM
bpu699

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

You can't get insurance for half the value, I asked. If you insure a 80k car for 40k and you total it causing 20k in damage, you get a check for 40k and they get the car...
Old 05-05-2018, 05:00 PM
ldamelio
Rennlist Member