Racing & Drivers Education Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

E-Track Rope Tie Off Failure.....

Old 03-09-2018, 07:41 PM
jrgordonsenior
Nordschleife Master

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
Default E-Track Rope Tie Off Failure.....

I have been using these for many years to connect the ratcheting straps that hold my 996 down in my Pace trailer which came with the floor mounted e-track. I think I replaced them with about 5 years ago when I also replaced the ratcheting straps. I never thought much about them but that changed today.... While tightening down the straps at the rear one of these tie-offs failed in the e-track and thankfully just missed my head as it went flying by. I inspected the other connectors and found the other rear one was cracked completely down the back and probably would have broken in a few more wrackets. Luckily I had spares for the wall mounted e-track and used those. So a few points to make here:
1). Inspect these type of connectors regularly and change them out every few years. They're cheap....
2). The ones I purchased have a workload of 1,467 lbs and assembly break strength of 4,400 lbs which should be more than enough for a 2500 lb car. But... they now make a heavy duty version with 2,000lb. workload and 6,000 lb. break strength. I would have bought those had they been available 5 years ago: http://www.uscargocontrol.com/Van-Tr...k-Rope-Tie-Off
These are what I now use: http://www.uscargocontrol.com/Van-Tr...ing-Heavy-Duty

Photo of broken pieces....
Old 03-09-2018, 08:36 PM
Matt Romanowski
Rennlist Hoonigan
which cost no drachmas
Lifetime Rennlist

Rennlist
Site Sponsor

Received 758 Likes on 498 Posts

Wow! Glad you caught that before it caused a major failure.
Old 03-09-2018, 11:32 PM
fatbillybob
Drifting

Received 128 Likes on 83 Posts