Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Driver training options

Old 12-11-2017, 10:41 PM
BillNye
Racer

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Driver training options

I’d like to get a little advice on my “best” path to being a “good” driver. I’m not (for now) interested in doing any competitive events or the lifestyle changes to make track days more than a hobby (truck/trailer, R compounds, traveling more than 2-3hrs to an event). That said, I enjoy being “good” at things. My goal for “good” is to be able to set consistent lap times near the limit of any particular (street) car.

For some background, I’m new to HPDE but not completely green to performance driving in general. I did karting for 6-7yrs as a kid and some autocross (albeit more than 5yrs ago). I’d like to think I have a pretty good feel for what a car is doing and no bad habits, but as far as driving enthusiasts go I’m average at best. I think my skill is currently at a level that generic “do this, not that” advice isn’t going to help and I need a little more personalized instruction to identify where I’m lacking and what I need to do differently to improve.

I know I have a few options, with a professional coach and rented track at one end of the spectrum, having an instructor ride along @ a track day on the other end, and an advanced driving school somewhere in the middle (at least in terms of cost). While I’ve never gotten a quote from a pro, I’m pretty sure I can’t afford that level of instruction, nor am I good enough to warrant it. As I’m mostly interested in a hobby basis with a somewhat limited budget, I’d rather spread costs out over a season at several events with seat time in my own car than 1 weekend at a driving school.