Notices
Macan 2014-Current

Macan Ordering Advice: Listen or Weep!!!

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2016, 11:37 PM
Old Guy
Rennlist Member

Received 14 Likes on 12 Posts
Angry Macan Ordering Advice: Listen or Weep!!!

Took delivery of our Macan S on April 13th. It now has over 8000 miles on the clock, run up with long drives here in CA and a long drive to VA and back via NC and TX. When it comes to Macans, I humbly suggest that I'm an expert. Fantastic road car; perfect for long trips for 2 people. My advice: 1) the roof rack and load management systems are cheap at the price, and super functional - get them! 2) I had to back-fit the running boards as my salesperson talked me out of them...but obviously I needed them (this is my beach and surf car), and back-fitting them cost me $2500 - almost twice the factory order price!! 3) THE BIG ONE!! We have a 2011 Carrera GTS and its Nav/Sirius XM system gives me the traffic reports I rely on here in SoCal. Ordering the 2017 Macan S with Nav/Sirius XM I assumed I'd be able to get traffic. NO!!! Before our long trip last month I spent hours on the phone with Sirius trying to get the traffic ap to work. No luck. Only then, after hours with Sirius and finally a suggestion I talk to Porsche did a Porsche boss call me back to inform me that because we did not add Connection Plus on the original order, we never will be able to get Sirius traffic updates. Never. Ever. I'm PO'd. The Porsche guy said: "try WAZE." Gimme a break...so I want to look at another device while trying to drive at 80+ mph?? Did I mention that I'm PO'd!!?? What the heck are the Porsche engineers thinking? Obviously when we ordered the new Macan S we had "the right" to assume some technology overlaps...like the traffic ap on Sirius XM!! So now we have put almost 8000 miles in 4 months on a new car we plan to keep, and never, ever will we be able to check traffic like we do every day with our 2011 Carrera GTS (we live in the San Diego/LA area...yes, traffic inf