Notices
Macan 2014-Current

Which Macan to buy?

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2019, 02:38 AM
cometguy
Burning Brakes

Received 219 Likes on 154 Posts

With the context of my owning multiple Panameras, including a 462-hp 2018 Panamera, I'll say that my new 2019 base Macan is an excellent vehicle -- even in comparison to my 2018 Panny.
It has great acceleration for an SUV, and I find that it is very "fast" (can't figure out that comment about the 2-liter engine Macans not being fast above): I find it very stable and smooth at 95 mph (the fastest I've gotten it so far on urban expressways). Sure, it doesn't accelerate like my Panamera, but I don't need it to. I'm a fast driver, and my base Macan is fast, well planted, and very fun to drive. I was disappointed in my multiple test-drives of the Macan S, actually -- I expected much more out of a Porsche with a V6. I couldn't justify the extra expense of the S over the base, personally. I also test-drove one or two Sports Edition Macans, and I found that they were packaged with stuff I didn't need at too high a cost, so I special-ordered my own base version without air suspension, and it handles really really well.
Old 07-04-2019, 07:42 PM
CaptCody
Rennlist Member

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

No tips here yet. Will be going to see the dealer in August and see where the Macan "market" sits. Happy 4th!
Old 07-05-2019, 01:06 AM
john981
Rennlist Member

Received 226 Likes on 138 Posts