Notices
981 Forum Discussions of the 3rd Gen Boxster and 2nd Gen Cayman (2012-2016)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Driving with snow tires questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2017, 12:13 PM
maxpowers
Pro

Received 10 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Driving with snow tires questions

I finally put snow tires on my 07 Cayman S yesterday. This is my first time ever driving with snow tires and attempting to drive a sports car in the winter. Usually in the winter I'm in a warm climate or if I'm in the snow I've been driving a 04 Range Rover.

The tires are:

235/40R-18 Yokohama iceGUARD iG52c XL
255/40R-18 Yokohama iceGUARD iG52c XL

Last year I tried driving around my neighborhood with the stock tires and I couldn't make it up any kind of hill and was slipping and sliding everywhere. This year with the winter tires I drive at the same spots with no problem. If I really gun it the car with fish tail, but for the most part it handled the hills and snow/ice around my neighborhood really well.

I still haven't taken it on the highway or more than 30 mph and am just taking it really slow and easy. Any tips for highway driving if I run into ice/harsh conditions? I'd like to drive it through a curvy mountain road (Glenwood Canyons on i70) and if conditions get difficult can the car handle it?

Also, can the tires handle about 350 miles of summer highway driving back to where I have the summer tires?
Old 02-26-2017, 02:05 PM
DBH
Three Wheelin'

Received 430 Likes on 290 Posts

You've got heavy duty ice/snow tires. They should be good for anything you encounter. The only thing holding you back would be the depth of the snow - at some point you'll end up as a snow plow!

In adverse conditions just slow down and maintain a reasonable speed, especially when going up hill. Hanging the tail out can be great fun and an education in car handling. Just be sure to do this in a safe area with lots of object free runoff area.