Notices
987 Forum Discussion about the Cayman/Boxster variants (2004-2012)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Small cooling project - Power Steering

Search this Thread

Old 06-06-2007, 12:15 PM
Dave DE
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Small cooling project - Power Steering

I've been hearing stories of Caymans and Boxsters with power steering failures related to overheating at track events. It sounds like the best fix for this is an underdrive pulley or a cooler added to the PS installed in the center vent area at the front of the car. Since I only do an occasional track event, and I am not experienced enough to really push things, I recently took a look under the car hoping I could come up with something simple that might help the situation a little bit without as much trouble and expense.

Looking at the pic of the PS lines, you can see there are a few loops in the line at the center of the car to serve as a heat radiator. There is a NACA style duct in the plastic bottom cover to cool this area. Note that there is another single loop outboard of the other ones. There does not appear to be any airflow through this area. Just ahead of the single loop is a mounting screw recess in the cover. I cut a hole in the trailing edge of this recess to bring air into the cavity. I also added a rectangular vent further back to allow the air to flow out, and was also thinking this might help cooling when the car is stationary.

I don't claim that this will make a major difference, but it seems to me it should help a little bit and it was easy enough to do.

Dave
'06 CS
Attached Images   
Old 06-07-2007, 08:45 AM
FTS
Burning Brakes

Received 4 Likes on 1 Post

Dave, I guess you and I have been having our own little cooling issues. This looks interesting. I have not had the PS issue yet, but I'll keep this one in mind; let us know how it turns out after few track days.
Old 06-07-2007, 11:31 AM
smayster
Rennlist Member