Notices
987 Forum Discussion about the Cayman/Boxster variants (2004-2012)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Worst DME ever...?

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2019, 03:15 PM
Gatorgirlie
AutoX

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Worst DME ever...?

Complete newbie In the market for a 2008 Cayman S with enough miles to meet my budget. Found one that is insanely well
optioned but looks rough for its mileage- THEN I got the report on over-revs. is it my imagination or is this horrible?

Number of Ignition in range One (which is 7200-7500 RPM) 25,511 times

- Number of Ignition in Range Two (which is 7500-7700 RPM) 1246 times

- Number of Ignitions in Range Three (which is 7700-7900 RPM) 403 times

- Number of Ignitions in Range Four (which is 7900-8400 RPM) 209 times

- Number of Ignitions in Range Five (which is 9400-9500 RPM) 2 times

- Number of Ignitions in Range Six (which is over 9500 RPM) - 1 time

Last edited by Gatorgirlie; 01-12-2019 at 11:13 AM.
Old 01-08-2019, 03:55 PM
Anthonyr105
Intermediate

Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts

Probably not the worst but certainly not good. IIRC those are individual ignitions so the actual time spent is much less than it looks like. The real key is the hours since the incident. Many feel if more than 50 hours have passed it should be reasonably safe?!? Looks like someone had a money shift to get that high. Hopefully someone can give a better explanation.
How is the maintenance history? Was it well taken care of? How many owners? Quality parts used for service? There are cars out there. If you don't like it keep looking. I know it is frustrating to keep finding beat up cars but nothing is as expensive as a cheap sports car.
Old 01-08-2019, 04:22 PM
Gatorgirlie
AutoX

Originally Posted by Anthonyr105