Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums (https://rennlist.com/forums/)
-   981 Forum (https://rennlist.com/forums/981-forum-264/)
-   -   CAYMAN SPARE TIRE & JACK (https://rennlist.com/forums/981-forum/1120886-cayman-spare-tire-and-jack.html)

mwest 12-27-2018 08:37 PM

CAYMAN SPARE TIRE & JACK

Not happy about riding around without a spare. I do carry a plug kit, can of fix a flat and a small compressor-but over the years all of the flats I've had were always in a non-repairable spot. Or the loss of air was due to damage to the wheel.
I have a Boxster and recently acquired an 09 Cayman S that will be a street car and see lots of track time. I'm an instructor and do 35-40 track days per year. My primary track car has been a Z06 Vette that I drive to the track. I carry a donut spare from a Caddy CTS in the Vette and it's gotten me home twice this season. I test fitted the Boxster donut onto the Cayman and it fits perfectly on front and rear. I was able to find an unused Boxster donut locally for $80. I also carry either a Harbor Freight lightweight aluminum jack or a low profile scissors jack in all my cars. I've had 1/2 drive sockets welded to the scissors jacks so I can raise/lower them with my breaker bar or my impact wrench. For now the spare is strapped down in the rear of the Cayman with ratchet camlock straps. Ideally I'd like to carry the spare in the frunk same as the Boxster location, but I don't see any way of securing the donut in place in the frunk.The scissors jack and breaker bar are wrapped in towels and wedged into the small compartment in the frunk directly below the battery. They are very secure and not able to move around in there.

My questions are:
Does anyone else carry a spare in their Cayman and where is it stored?