Notices
987 Forum Discussion about the Cayman/Boxster variants (2004-2012)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I want to buy a Cayman S!

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2018, 05:56 PM
caymanreview
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I want to buy a Cayman S!

I have been driving Beemers for 10+ years now and am ready to finally move up to the Porsche brand. I am in the market to buy a lightly used Cayman S. I have identified a 2015 Cayman S (w/PDK) with about 15,000 miles on it. They are asking $58,000. It's being sold by a non AD Porsche dealer. They have a stellar reputation though. I plan on asking for a Carafx report, maintenance report history and an over-rev report. What else should I ask for? Also, this is not a CPO. How important is getting CPO?

Just trying to get feedback and advice what I need to look for when purchasing a used Porsche.

Also, I live in Southern California (LA/OC area) so if anyone has a good mechanic, I'll take the recommendation. Thanks!

I drive about 17,000 miles a year.

Last edited by caymanreview; 06-29-2018 at 07:25 PM.
Old 06-29-2018, 06:58 PM
KevinGross
Rennlist Member

Received 154 Likes on 101 Posts

Get a pre-purchase inspection (PPI) from a shop that does not have an interest in the car. Should cover mechanical and body condition. This is a must, and if the seller is unwilling, start walking. In SoCal, you cannot walk 100 yards without tripping over a clean, used Porsche of some kind!

CPO is certainly nice to have, but not the end of the world if the car is past that. Carfax can help, but many owners are sly enough to avoid an insurance claim for repairs knowing it'll affect resale value via a future Carfax. Hence the PPI importance.

Do some checking as to available Caymans on, for example, cars.com to get a sense of prices. Avoid using Panorama and Excellence: owners listing cars in them generally have inflated expectations of their cars' market value.

Good luck -- hope this one's a winner for you!