Notices
987 Forum Discussion about the Cayman/Boxster variants (2004-2012)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Clutch feeling weird

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2018, 08:35 PM
SomnoBoost
Instructor

Received 40 Likes on 23 Posts
Default Clutch feeling weird

Hey all,

I've had my 987.2 Cayman for about 5 weeks or so maybe. It's got 41k miles on it. When I got it I never noticed any odd feeling with the clutch but did have one incident of slipping when I got on it on a down shift turn. I'm certain driver error played a part since I was brand new to the car, but it may not have been driver error exclusively. But I have noticed that there is a "funny" feel when I am pushing in the clutch when shifting. I'm no mechanic by any means but the best way I can describe it is a gritty feeling when I'm shifting and depressing the clutch. As if some sand was poured in the clutch somewhere. (To be clear, I don't at all think it's sand. lol ) The clutch does not seem stiffer or looser, just a that gritty feeling. And the gritty feeling is not present at all unless the car is driving and upshifting. When downshifting with minimal RPM's it's not noticeable. If it's not in gear and the I push in the clutch, there is zero gritty feel.

Anyone ever heard anything like this or maybe have experienced it?

Thanks
Old 05-26-2018, 02:50 PM
SomnoBoost
Instructor

Received 40 Likes on 23 Posts

Update: Clutch is just fine. Took it to the one of the most respected Porsche service spots around and had the owner take my Cayman for a spin. He said totally normal feel to the clutch and I was only feeling the difference between under load and under no load. It just feels different than my last couple cars but then again the Cayman is far different than either of those.

So that's that. Lovvving the car though!
Old 05-28-2018, 11:52 AM
Macster
Race Director

Received 246 Likes on 217 Posts