Notices
987 Forum Discussion about the Cayman/Boxster variants (2004-2012)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Cayman S, 987.2 with sketchy records

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2017, 04:16 AM
roadtripper1
AutoX

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cayman S, 987.2 with sketchy records

Hello all, I am new to this great forum. Owned 1990 944S2 with MO30 for 5 years. Lots of tracking in that car as well as others. Light autocross in the Porsche and heavy autocross several years in other cars.

Now looking to buy Cayman S 987.2 with mileage in mid 40K, but with sketchy records. Here are my concerns:

Original owner drove car 22,000 miles in a little more than a year, no record of any maintenance, checking with Porsche dealer database, Carfax, and Autocheck.

Car was traded at 22K to non-Porsche dealer, who then had it serviced at a Porsche dealer. Abbreviated repair order copy said 20K service, no indication of issues found or issues not corrected.

Second owner had oil and filter change at Porsche dealer at 31K. Abbreviated repair order copy did not say 30K service. I have no idea what was done, but I would have expected brake fluid change. This was 2 years after original owner purchase.

Third and current owner has good records during his ownership and had 40K and safety inspection with Porsche dealer a couple of years and several thousand miles ago. Safety check was good but owner turned down brake fluid change on fact that he has had car in dry climate since he bought it. For all I know the brake fluid may have never been changed. Dealer recommended change based on time only. No indication of any test being performed on fluid.