Sponsored by:

Converting proprietary PCM 3.0 signal to generic optical

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2013, 12:39 PM
thomer
4th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Converting proprietary PCM 3.0 signal to generic optical

I'm new to Porsches and new to Cayennes, so please excuse my imbecility while I get my feet wet. I've tried searching (multiple) forums for the answer, but can't find anything satisfactory.

I will soon pick up a 2009 Cayenne with the Bose "14" speaker option. I want to keep the head unit and replace everything else. I believe the 2009 has PCM 3.0, which connects directly to a Bose 5 (I think) channel amplifier, which converts the PCM 3.0 fiber optic signal to 5 speaker level outputs (I'm guessing).

I would like to rip out the Bose amp and replace it with my Bit One audio processor (and then connect my 5 channel JL Audio amplifier). Is there a product out there that can convert PCM 3.0 fiber optic to a generic optical signal?

I'd like to avoid daisy chaining the Bose amplifier in line with everything else. Tell me it's possible!
Old 07-24-2013, 12:50 PM
ltc
Super Moderator
Needs More Cowbell

Lifetime Rennlist

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

Sure, purchase and insert an Optolyzer in series with the MOST loop and its components (no need to remove anything) and connect to the Optolyzer front panel S/PDIF output to get your audio.

Simple.

http://www.k2l.de/products/analysis-...ction-features

Good luck.
Old 07-24-2013, 01:08 PM
thomer
4th Gear

ltc, thank you for the quick response. Searching the forum for Optolyzer and you seem to be the only one championing this product. At first glance, it seems like overkill as I am neither developing, analyzing, or testing anything. I simply need to pass the signal along in a different format.

Do you know how much the Optolyzer G2 Production (hardware only) module would cost a regular bloke?
Old 07-25-2013, 11:11 AM
ltc
Super Moderator
Needs More Cowbell

Lifetime Rennlist