Panamera 2010-Current

2016 Panamera s e-hybrid - Reliability? + Intro

Old 04-26-2018, 07:28 PM
cbwinters01
Advanced

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default 2016 Panamera s e-hybrid - Reliability? + Intro

Hello,
First my question, then my story. For those of you that have had your 2016 Panamera s e-hybrid for a while now, have you encountered any reliability issues that you can pass on? I'm at ~ 3K miles now and my only issue so far was the replacement of the faulty/rebooting PCM after I first brought the car home.

My story:
I had been considering various automobile purchase options for several months, but couldn’t find something that really stood out to me. I wanted something that was different than most everything I see on the road. Also, given the direction of the state of CA, and the fact that I intend to own this car for 10+ years (I’ve owned my 911 SC for 20 years), I wanted to get a hybrid if possible. I had considered a Panamera on various occasions, but just couldn’t justify spending what was necessary to get the exact car that I wanted. As it happened, I came across a new (not titled) 2016 Panamera s e-hybrid online that was exactly what I was looking for at a reasonable price. After a couple of weeks of negotiation, via text message, I ended up agreeing to purchase the car for what was a very good deal for the build.

The next challenge was how to get the car from the dealership in Spokane, WA, to San Diego, CA. I didn’t want to pay the $2K to have the car shipped (despite my wife’s urging), and just as much or more, I didn’t want to wait for the car to be shipped once I had determined to buy the car. Also important to note was that it was a few days before Christmas and I wanted to have the car home in plenty of time to enjoy Christmas with my wife and young children. Going completely against my grain, I purchased a plane ticket that evening for a flight next morning, to Spokane to turn around and drive the car home that evening.