Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums (https://rennlist.com/forums/)
-   Panamera (https://rennlist.com/forums/panamera-167/)
-   -   Too digital? (https://rennlist.com/forums/panamera/1041121-too-digital.html)

Hawkeye911 12-29-2017 06:11 AM

Too digital?

I’m considering adding a new Cayenne Turbo to the stable when they release and I see online they are going with the fully digital displays / controls similar to the newest Panameras.

I am a huge Porsche fan, but think they made a big mistake trying to become too high tech.

While my 911 was in the shop, my dealer loaned me a new Panamera. I love technology, but felt this was over kill.

Simply moving the vent vent slats was comical. “Cool factor” of a 10, but functionality of a 1 (especially while driving).

Controls were hard to find and difficult to navigate.

I’m an early adopter in tech, simply love it, and this seemed like a great idea that was not well executed.

I’m curious if those who own the new Panamera have found this is something that becomes easier with use and now they love it - or if it’s something I may regret?

Plan B is the new Range Rover Ssoort SSR, but they seem to also be going fully digital on the same interfaces. Not sure if that will be any better.

nvarga 12-29-2017 07:49 AM

I love technology and digital equipment is not too much in the new Panamera which I drove for a week.
It does lack fine tuning and refinement in terms of usability.

Similar story is with original Panamera and facelift version. I own 2015 face lifted version which is to my opinion much better car on many different levels than original.

I have the same experience with merc s class 2005 and 2010. Different cars in many ways.

fgv1it 12-29-2017 08:50 AM