Notices

car numbers for DE

Old 03-08-2017, 03:13 PM
spo235
1st Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default car numbers for DE

Hello all!

I'm new to the DE events, and have one coming up in April. I have a Boxster, and was thinking about getting some magnetic numbers. A few questions for the more seasoned veterans:
1. Are magnetic numbers a good idea? I have read about them coming off
2. Any recommendations on where to get magnetic numbers or vinyl if I go that route?

Thanks in advance for any help, and I apologize if this is posted in the wrong forum.
Old 03-11-2017, 01:19 PM
tstafford
Rennlist Member

Received 1,080 Likes on 619 Posts

If you want something easy to remove and is reusable, I prefer window cling. Check these guys out:

https://www.trackdecals.com/
Old 03-16-2017, 06:03 PM
David993S
Drifting

Received 155 Likes on 103 Posts

Magnetic numbers can scratch your paint, and potentially come off. Here's what I do: I bought two magnetic numbers to use as a template. Place them on some contact paper in your color choice, trace the number on the contact paper, cut it out, apply to your car. Easy to remove after the weekend. Easy to make new ones for the next DE. Looks professional and inexpensive to boot.

Cheers.
Old 05-15-2017, 05:07 PM
sicklyscott
AutoX

I purchased a set of reusable meatballs. Ended up not being reusable. Lots of money in that mistake.
Old 01-26-2018, 04:13 PM
raspritz
Burning Brakes

Received 249 Likes on 160 Posts

I used magnetic numbers for years with no problems before I started racing. They do not scratch paint. Get a 'permanent' number assigned by your PCA region, and have that number made as a meatball (one for each door). Put a 2" piece of painter's tape at leading edge to ensure wind doesn't get underneath and cause it to peel off during a session (but I never had that happen).
Old 03-06-2018, 08:14 PM
zoiks
Rennlist Member

Received 21 Likes on 14 Posts