Sponsored by: APR

Tall 2nd gear makes all the difference

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2016, 03:17 PM
matttheboatman
Rennlist Member

Received 610 Likes on 235 Posts
Default Tall 2nd gear makes all the difference

I just finished an enjoyable weekend running the GT4 at NOLA. Its a fun 2.75 mile flat and fast course with both slow, fast, and several double apex turns. In the never ending quest to shave time I discovered that the tall 2nd gear truly made all the difference in net performance. I was able to take a second off my personal best time in less-than-desirable overcast and damp conditions by getting down to 2nd gear in more turns.

Background, I am an intermediate level driver with about 15 DEs total. So, my discovery might be old news for seasoned pros, but it was enlightening for me so I thought I would share with the GT4 community.

The available power in 2nd is immense compared to 3rd when accelerating out of a turn. In addition to available power, the taller 2nd allows you to use engine braking to improve deceleration at many corners. If you are approaching a corner at below 65 mph, consider dropping into 2nd gear. You might find it will shave a few .10ths or more off your time.

In addition to better acceleration, and better deceleration, using 2nd does make the car more sensitive. That can be good thing in the overly composed GT4. I discovered I could use this sensitivity as a benefit to manage under steer. When approaching certain turns (an example would be a series of turns), using the tall 2nd gear allowed me to approach a corner faster and turn in with confidence. Try this: while in second, add throttle before a turn. This will result in instant speed and rock the car back on its' rears. Then, abruptly get off the throttle just before turn-in. The car will rock forward, plant the front wheels, and allow you to rotate with confidence and much less push.