Interstate GT4 purchase

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2016, 08:10 PM
esse10229
Advanced

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default Interstate GT4 purchase

Hi folks,

First of all, please forgive my broken English. After living in the state for 6 year, I still find English a hard language for me to master. I finally find the GT4 I want from a dealer in Florida, after my 981 got stolen. Many thanks to the rennlisters who helped me along the way, thank you guys!

The car was a leasing vehicle previously (from Florida), and I live in CA. The dealer told me if I decided to purchase the car. They will pay off the lease on car, and I will receive the title and bill of sale later (from what I was told those docs will not come together with the car). Then I need to do the registration and title transfer myself at CA DMV. Since this is my first time interstate car purchase, I want to ask Rnnlisters if this sounds right to you guys. And if there is anything I need to watch out for, so that dealing with DMV won’t turn out to be a nightmare.

Many thanks!
Old 09-14-2016, 09:51 PM
RDCR
Rennlist Member

Received 621 Likes on 379 Posts

I got my car from a dealer in Texas. The dealer should be able to handle the transfer of title and sales tax/DMV fees for you but you will need to do the following when the car arrives in Calif:

Pull the carpet off the engine cover and drive it to your local DMV. I had a local dealer pull and reinstall the carpet for me because it's not the easiest thing to remove. The DMV will verify the VIN# of the car and verify by looking at the sticker on the metal engine cover (that's under the carpet) that the car meets federal smog requirements.

From there take it to any smog station and have a smog inspection done on it and you should be done.
Old 09-14-2016, 11:17 PM
esse10229
Advanced

Originally Posted by RDCR