Notices

Hola!

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-2009, 10:12 PM
Larry L
Race Car

Received 185 Likes on 146 Posts
Default Hola!

Name's Larry, and I think I'm about to rejoin the ranks of Porsche owners.

I'm new to the 'list, but I'm familiar with some of the Birmingham area Porschephiles. Some of them might even admit that they know me.

I can't make any promises, but I'll make a sincere attempt to be a model citizen.
Old 07-05-2009, 09:48 AM
ltc
Super Moderator
Needs More Cowbell

Lifetime Rennlist

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

Welcome.
Any particular model or forum interest you?
Old 07-05-2009, 11:01 AM
Larry L
Race Car

They all interest me.

I'm on the fence as far as my choices are concerned. I'm working with a limited budget this time, so I'll probably go for a Gen 1 Boxster S, a newer base Boxster, an early 996, or my old 968 cabrio.

I've already owned a Carrera cab, a 2.7 Targa, a couple of 944's, and the aforementioned 968 cab. I'd really like to try a Boxster. I can deal with all the 'vagina' jokes.
Old 07-06-2009, 12:00 AM
ltc
Super Moderator
Needs More Cowbell

Lifetime Rennlist

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

Personally, I'd go with a 968 over a Boxster, but I'm partial to the styling and balance of a 968.

Boxsters are certainly affordable today, no question.
Just be very aware of their 'quirks', like rear main seal problems, oil starvation, electrical gremlins, etc.
Like any model, the first couple of model years were the worst, they always get better. A bit underpowered as well IMHO, unless you go for the S.
Not a fan of the new interior styling.

Given a choice, I'd go for a Boxster S over an early 996 (not a fan of the 996).

Caymans are quickly coming down in price as well, so you may want to consider one of those perhaps...I found them to be a bit crampt inside and felt a bit claustrophobic for some reason, but a nice handling car.

Lots of great forums and technical gurus here on Rennlist....don't be shy.
Old 07-06-2009, 09:48 AM
Larry L