Notices

RacePak G2X question

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2015, 09:10 PM
aclark133
Rennlist Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RacePak G2X question

Hi guys, total newbie to data acquisition here. I saw a racepak system for sale and it got me thinking I could use it for OBD2 data logging. My reason for this is my 993 may be getting forced induction in the future and talked with protomotive about having my ecu flashed with a base map. Would this work for data logging to help tweak the tune? I also plan on getting into auto cross and DE days once my suspension and safety equipment is finished. I'll take any help I can get, even if I'm in the wrong forum!
Old 04-22-2015, 10:04 PM
Matt Romanowski
Rennlist Hoonigan
which cost no drachmas
Lifetime Rennlist

Rennlist
Site Sponsor

Received 1,009 Likes on 603 Posts

I don't believe you'll get anything other than RPM from a 993 OBDII port and even then I don't think it will be fast enough to be of use.
Old 04-22-2015, 10:13 PM
aclark133
Rennlist Member

Originally Posted by Matt Romanowski
I don't believe you'll get anything other than RPM from a 993 OBDII port and even then I don't think it will be fast enough to be of use.
Thanks Matt. Does this mean I would have to add in my own sensors? How about the g2x unit as a whole, or would my money be better spent elsewhere...
Old 04-22-2015, 10:40 PM
Matt Romanowski
Rennlist Hoonigan
which cost no drachmas
Lifetime Rennlist

Rennlist
Site Sponsor

Received 1,009 Likes on 603 Posts

Yes, you would have to add in your own sensors. Racepak is really big in the drag race market, but not in road racing. I'll shoot you a PM with some more thoughts.
Old 04-23-2015, 09:00 AM
pmiranda
Intermediate

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts