Notices

Garmin Catalyst Technical "Hacks"

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-2022, 09:14 AM
lgusto
Instructor

Received 135 Likes on 78 Posts
Default Garmin Catalyst Technical "Hacks"

I'll start by saying I hesitated on buying a Catalyst for months but finally did so after reading so many kudos from the folks at SpeedSecrets. IMHO, the device is invaluable.

I'm a computer guy by profession so anything related to technology causes me to initially ask two questions. First, if the device gets broken, lost or stolen will I have a backup or will I have to start again from scratch. Second, how can I make use of ALL the data the device is capable of producing.

Addressing the question of backups first, I started with Garmin technical support. They told me "NO", if the Catalyst is broken, lost or stolen you will have to start again from scratch except for videos that you had previously exported to a computer. Garmin said there is no way to backup and then restore all of your session data to another Catalyst. I don't believe this but would love to have someone verify my approach since i don't have a second Catalyst for testing. Using a Windows 10 PC it seems that one can copy everything that shows up on the PC's File Explorer and save all of those files for use if a new Catalyst is needed.

That content includes:
  1. "This PC\Catalyst\Internal storage" - I believe this is all of the Catalyst's operating system, personal settings and session data.
  2. "This PC\Catalyst\Transcend SD card" - This is the micro USB card that came with the Catalyst installed in the bottom slot. This seems to be where saved videos are stored. It is a 32gb card which the Catayst says will hold about 6 hours of data based on the information bar on the main screen.