Notices

Does accelerometer position really matter?

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2018, 11:51 AM
dbbarron
Burning Brakes

Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts
Default Does accelerometer position really matter?

I've been using a SoloDL for a few years for DE use and have never relied on the hardware accelerometer, using only GPS derived lateral acceleration to observe cornering forces.
As I look to instrument another car, I have more options and was curious (1) should I really care about hardware accelerometer use over GPS and why; and (2) if I do care, how critical is mounting position?
Does it really have to be in the cars center of (gravity/rotation)?

DB
Old 10-14-2018, 01:51 PM
ProCoach
Rennlist
Basic Site Sponsor

Received 2,836 Likes on 1,670 Posts

Depends on what you’re looking for and how much math you’re using to calculate different measures.
Old 10-14-2018, 04:06 PM
Matt Romanowski
Rennlist Hoonigan
which cost no drachmas
Lifetime Rennlist

Rennlist
Site Sponsor

Received 762 Likes on 500 Posts

Like Peter said, it really depends. For most people, it doesn't matter. If you really want to engineer or calculate things, you want it as close as possible. Many times how the device is mounted is more important than where.
Old 10-14-2018, 04:11 PM
dbbarron
Burning Brakes

I just looked at GPS derived lat_a v. accelerometer lat_a for a recent event.
The accelerometer data definitely seems to have a higher sample rate and less variability; I suspect it's better resolution data which makes sense as it is directly measured rather than being inferred from GPS.
However, I was looking at an uncalibrated stream and had to make a few assumption to have it make sense (-3.2 offset and 1.1 multiplier).

So that answers GPS v. measured lat_a.
I really want to know how much different in measured lat_a there will be depending on position in vehicle relative to center of rotation (say half way between axles).

DB
Old 10-14-2018, 04:33 PM
ProCoach
Rennlist
Basic Site Sponsor