Notices

06 Cayenne Clear Coat...hard or soft?

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2015, 01:05 PM
DWPC
Burning Brakes

Received 16 Likes on 13 Posts
Default 06 Cayenne Clear Coat...hard or soft?

I polished my black metallic 06 CTT last year intending to remove the swirls and holograms from buff jobs by others. I used Einzett Paint Polish and Meguiar yellow pads on a 6" DA, and it hardly did anything for the swirls. Since then I've read conflicting remarks on detailing forums concerning the hardness of the clear coat on Cayennes being much harder than typical CC. I'm getting set to order pads & polish for a new effort and want to have the right products on hand this time. I'd like to hear from those with some depth in Porsche detailing about the hardness issue and whether I need a really aggressive compound/pad combo, without the hype that seems heavy on detailing websites. Recommendations? I have some experience but am an amateur at detailing and want to err on the conservative side to avoid making things worse.
Old 01-13-2015, 03:07 PM
Chrono
Rennlist Member

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts

Einzett Paint Polish isn't going to provide the level of correction you need. Being conservative, safe, and inexpensive, you might try Meguiars Ultimate Compund, avalailale to WalMart, auto parts stores, etc. At $10, you might as well start there.

Secondly, I looked up the Megs Yellow pad, and again, it's not aggressive enough. Try a Lake Country or Buff & Shine Orange pad with the Megs Ultimate Compund on a 2x2 spot and see how it goes. You can finish the polish off with the Einzett or some Megs Ultimate Polish, using a white or green pad.

To step it up from there, quality and gloss wise, you could use Menzerna FG400 on the orange pad followed by Menzerna 4000 with a green or white pad. Menzerna PF2500 is also great at mid-level correction.

My 911 is the same model year as your SUV and I've used these products with great succeess.
Old 01-13-2015, 03:51 PM
DWPC
Burning Brakes