Notices

Questions on pad choice

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2013, 02:13 PM
DWPC
Burning Brakes

Received 17 Likes on 14 Posts
Default Questions on pad choice

I'm new to DIY polishing with a DA machine. I have a black 06 Cayenne with what I'd call typical "dealer job" swirls and finish wear, but no deep scratches. I have a few questions as I get my supplies lined up:
  • Is there a real difference in pad performance or longevity between the name brands like Meguiers and Lake Country.
  • What about choice of the pad face pattern; smooth or waffle?
  • I'd really appreciate recommendations on pad grade and quantity I'll need to do a Cayenne. Assume a first swirl removing polish, and a second with a fine polish, then wax.
  • Should I get a 3" backing plate and pads for tight spots?

Thanks
Old 10-22-2013, 01:28 AM
ET1KTRD
Rennlist Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I only have experience with lake county and hex logic pads, but I'm sure at some point there is a difference I pad quality. I would stick with something you know is good since the cost diff is minimal. U will mostly need an orange and a black or white pad. Use the orange with a cutting polish and white with a finishing polish. Also clay the car if it has never been before. Then apply sealant and/or wax. And yes, get smaller backing plate and pads if u plan to polish the entire car.
Old 10-22-2013, 07:45 AM
TOGWT
Burning Brakes

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Foam pads perform differently from each other on the basis of how they’re constructed. Under a microscope, foam pads look like a bee’s honeycomb, small uniformly shaped cells.

The smaller the cells the more densely the construction, this type of foam pad would be considered less aggressive, thus it would be considered a finishing pad. The opposite effect takes place if the foam cells were larger, or less dense.