Sponsored By:
Sponsored By:

Install backup camera with OEM parts?

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2017, 11:01 AM
chenkaiser
1st Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Install backup camera with OEM parts?

Hello everyone,

I'm newbie here. recently want to upgrade my 2013 Cayenne S with backup camera. I have my PCM software version 3.43 with Navigation and parking assistent. I search the internet and found there's NAV-TV decoder for upgrading. I also found OEM rear camera control parts 7P5907441B on Ebay.

So my question is: is it possible or does anyboday upgrade bacup camera with OEM parts? If I want to use OEM parts, what else I need? I know I need a handle camera, apart from that, any specific parts I need to make it work?

Thanks!
Old 11-09-2017, 11:31 AM
deilenberger
Banned

Received 1,140 Likes on 758 Posts

Hi, welcome to the forum. You've posted this in the general Cayenne forum, which is mostly dedicated to the earlier Cayennes. Your 2013 is what's called a "958", and we have a dedicated forum for it..

I'm going to move your message over, it's more likely it will be seen there.

Hang on..
Old 11-09-2017, 11:40 AM
deilenberger
Banned

Received 1,140 Likes on 758 Posts

OK - for an answer..

In general - it's very difficult to add this sort of option to a Cayenne after the fact.

The reason being - the wiring for the camera isn't there. Most euro manufacturers don't make up "one-size-fits-all" wiring harnesses. The harnesses are made specifically to the vehicle being manufacturered, with only the wiring for the options that are going on that vehicle at the time it's manufactured.