Notices
Cayenne 958 - 2011-2018 2nd Generation
Sponsored By:
Sponsored By:

Anyone Install a Remote Starter on their 958.1?

Search this Thread

Old 10-13-2016, 11:43 PM
North Shore 911
Rennlist Member

Received 390 Likes on 198 Posts
Default Anyone Install a Remote Starter on their 958.1?

I just brought home a new-to-me, CPO'd 2012 Cayenne S as my winter DD. The only way I got my wife comfortable with me buying what is now my 3rd Porsche was by promising that her '14 Audi Q7 would always be parked inside in Winter next to my '10 Carerra 4S Cab (while my '68 911L will spend the Winter offsite in a heated garage).

So the Cayenne will spend all winter parked outside in the snow here in the Chicago suburbs, meaning that I need to find a remote starter solution so that I don't freeze my nuts off every morning from November-March when I head to work. I've just begun to look at my options, but as a Cayenne newbie I'd love to ask you guys for your experience. All I want to do is to be able to point the remote out the window to fire it up 5 min before I leave to warm it up (interior and engine) before I head out in the snow.

Have you guys got any thoughts on best options to consider? Thanks in advance for any help on this
Old 11-18-2016, 06:46 PM
North Shore 911
Rennlist Member

I'm still poking around for some feedback from anyone who may have installed one of these systems. Having done some legwork around here, I have been encouraged to look at Viper's "SmartStart" system using the GPS-based cell phone app. All I really need it to do is allow me to start up my car from my bedroom 5 min before I walk outside into the horrible Chicago winter so I can jump into a nice warm car for my daily commute on the really nasty days (I'll roll out in the C4S Cab on the nice ones ).

Does anyone have any experience with Viper in their Cayenne (or any other car)? Thanks for any help on this ...
Old 11-18-2016, 06:50 PM
jhbrennan
Rennlist Member

Received 81 Likes on 73 Posts