Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums (https://rennlist.com/forums/)
-   Cayenne 955-957 2003-2010 (https://rennlist.com/forums/cayenne-955-957-2003-2010-77/)
-   -   Hello Everyone! - A question about the Cayenne's manual tranny (https://rennlist.com/forums/cayenne-955-957-2003-2010/604037-hello-everyone-a-question-about-the-cayennes-manual-tranny.html)

TomM99 11-28-2010 11:20 PM

Hello Everyone! - A question about the Cayenne's manual tranny

Hi everyone. I am new to porsche ownership and new to this forum. I just ordered a 2011 Cayenne V6 with manual transmission. As with many of us, I will not see my new vehicle until April or May of next year. One advantage I guess is that I can avoid much of the winter's salt and sand up hear in Canada.

My question for anyone that can help me is what is the good, bad and the ugly with the Porsche manual transmission fitted to the Cayenne? I drove a BMW 5-speed for the past 9 yeas and found the shifting to be absoluely superb. I watched a video of a guy test driving a 2009 Cayenne GTS with manual tranny and he commented that the transmission and shifting was one of the worst he has ever driven. Needless to say I am a little bit concerned about my selection (note that the dealer did not have any manual 2011's for me to test drive).

Can anyone confirm or deny this guy's observations for the Cayenne stick. Has anyone here actually driven the 2011 6-speed? I wonder if the 2011 manaual transmission is all-new for 2011 as the rest of the Cayenne is or if it was carried forward from the previous model. I also wonder if this is a 'Porsche' transmission or a 'VW' transmission (just like the V6 engine block is a Toureg block).

Thanks everyone.

porscheprestige 11-30-2010 02:23 PM

A bad thing about it it could be resell value but if you plan on keeping the car very long time you shouldn't have that problem.

Andy E. 11-30-2010 02:28 PM

Originally Posted by porscheprestige (Post 8096097)