Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2008 Porsche Cayenne Turbo 957 Cylinder Scoring and Piston Ring Specifications

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2019, 02:58 PM
andrewjt19
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2008 Porsche Cayenne Turbo 957 Cylinder Scoring and Piston Ring Specifications

Hello everyone,
I can provide more information if needed, but I'm submitting myself to the advice and information of the Porsche community. I have a 957 CTT with cylinder scoring in cylinders 5 and 8. I would like to try and hone the cylinders and replace the rings with larger ones. I have a few questions:

1. What are the stock cylinder sleeves/liners made out of? I understand they are coated with Alusil.
2. What are the specs of the ring gap on all three rings?
3. A place to purchase rings, cylinder sleeves and pistons to insert them myself.

I'm not a mechanic, but I have family and friends who are and would be assisting. I'm aware of LN Engineering's Nickie's, 928 Motorsports solution and basically rebuild options with larger cylinders and pistons. Please help and thank you.

Last edited by andrewjt19; 01-17-2019 at 08:39 AM.
Old 01-08-2019, 03:01 PM
andrewjt19
Advanced

Old 01-09-2019, 01:07 AM
J'sWorld
Three Wheelin'

Received 183 Likes on 135 Posts

The block is solid Alusil. It is not honed or sleeved or plated. It is bored and finished with a multi step etching/lapping process. Sunnen makes the paste and felts to do this. But your block is scored so that wouldn't apply.
Pistons and rings are available in original size only. Specs are not available because Porsche didn't publish them. It's a secret....seriously. I hate to tell you that the options you have are the ones you already know about.
I'm just going to give it to you straight. Your screwed. New engine time. When you put your head in your hands have an extra cold one on me. I recommend 1554 by New Belgium brewery.
The following users liked this post:
Devil'sAdvocate (03-07-2023)
Old 01-09-2019, 09:02 AM
Petza914