Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How to hunt small leak 2008 cayenne?

Search this Thread

Old 07-02-2018, 11:24 AM
khandielas
Advanced

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default How to hunt small leak 2008 cayenne?

Hi, noob here. I got small leak on my 2008 Cayenne Base with 130k. I bought an ebay version smoke machine, but has no idea where to plug it in. Anybody used it before? Thank you so much.
Old 07-03-2018, 12:53 AM
LAPorscheGuy
Track Day

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

What kind of leak?
Old 07-03-2018, 09:56 AM
Petza914
RL Community Team
Rennlist Member

Received 6,158 Likes on 3,924 Posts

A smoke machine will help you find a vacuum leak, so I'm assuming that's what you're trying g to locate. You need to hook it up to the air intake so on the downstream side of the airbox (anything prior to the MAF won't have any effect on anything since the air is metered by the MAF). Find your air filter and plug the hose going out of the airbox with the smoke machine accessories and introduce the smoke there then pool to see where it comes out.
Old 07-03-2018, 02:24 PM
khandielas
Advanced

Hi, thank you all for the reply. I run a scan and have 6 codes.

1. P0507: idle control system rpm higher than expected value
2. P0440: Above upper limit value, Evaporation Emission System

3. P2187: Above upper limit. System too lean at idle bank 1
4. P2189: Above upper limit. System too lean at idle bank 2
5. P2187: No communication with bank 1
6. P2189: No communication with bank 2

I am not sure about 5, 6, assume it is not an issue?

My scanner(IcanScan) can collect data, freeze frame or something, but I don't know what data I need. Anybody has any thoughts? Thank you so much!
P0440 and P0507 indicate some leak.
Old 07-03-2018, 02:32 PM
khandielas
Advanced

https://rennlist.com/forums/cayenne-...0440-help.html

This is the post I found here, but not much details
Old 07-03-2018, 02:53 PM
Petza914
RL Community Team
Rennlist Member