Urgent Help Needed PLEASE

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2017, 09:05 PM
RacePace
Track Day

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Urgent Help Needed PLEASE

Hello fellow Porsche owners,
My 987 Boxster S started leaking a pink fluid i suspect its either Transmission oil or coolant.. there are no Check Engine Lights and the car runs and drives perfectly normal but the leak is a little fast i suspect from last night till this morning i would have lost approx between 1/2 to 1 qt.

Could you guys please advise as to what this leak maybe coming from. Below are some pictures.

It appears to be coming from behind this black/pulley wheel.. as each time i wipe it accumulates there...

Any help you guys can give will be greatly appreciated!

Old 04-01-2017, 10:06 PM
lowpue
Rennlist Member

Received 536 Likes on 259 Posts

Check your fluid levels...

I am no expert plus I am color blind but my guess is its a water pump issue.
Old 04-01-2017, 11:43 PM
RacePace
Track Day

Hi,
I can confirm its definitely coolant as i had to add 1qt to the reservoir... is a water pump expensive?
Old 04-02-2017, 05:46 AM
Stephen Tinker
Racer

Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts

You can go to the Pelican Parts website for the correct water pump - just don't forget to order a gasket too.
A genuine Porsche pump is expensive @ $600 or a Pierburg pump is about $300 which is a good alternative. I haven't heard any good reports on the cheaper pumps (Laso), but its your engine....
Don't get a pump with a metal impeller -use the search function to see why.
Fitting can take about 3 hours plus it would be advisable to replace the coolant while its all apart.
Old 04-02-2017, 08:26 AM
extanker
Banned

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Originally Posted by RacePace
Hi,
I can confirm its definitely coolant as i had to add 1qt to the reservoir... is a water pump expensive?