Sponsored by:

Generic IMS bearing parts

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2014, 12:21 PM
DennisAN
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Generic IMS bearing parts

I've been looking around and haven't found replacement OEM type IMS bearings available from Porsche.

I'm no expert on bearings, but do know that manufacturers such as Timken and SKF (Swedish Ballbearing Factory) have standardized on many standard sizes and configurations. On doing some searching I believe the double-row IMSB has a generic part number of 5204 and the single-row IMSB is a 6204.

5204 Specs.
OD 47 mm, Bore diameter 20 mm, Length 20.6 mm*

6204 Specs.
OD 47 mm, Bore diameter 20 mm, Length 14 mm

* variously given as 20.6 mm or 13/16" = 20.6375 mm.

Naturally if these basic specs are wrong everything following is wrong too.

To order a bearing, you have to add some suffixes to the base part number, such as "ZZ" for metal shields or "RS" for rubber shields (actually plastic). Guessing that Porsche buys from SKF, orderable bearings from SKF have exemplary extended part numbers:

Base part 5204
SKF 3204 A-2RS1TN9/MT33 $53 at the Atmus online store.

Base part 6204
SKF 6204 2RSJEM $12 from Amazon.com, $7 from USABearingsandBelts.com .

I don't know why SKF calls their 5204 a 3204.

I'm starting to view an IMSB as a "wear part" just like brake pads or motor oil. I'm a retired guy with more time than money, and don't mind tinkering with non-essential cars in my garage. Would it make sense to put one of these generic bearings in as a replacement IMSB every 40K miles or so?

Most respondents to my previous thread about replacing a double-row IMSB with a single-row IMSB reinforce my thought that it would be a dumb idea to do that specifically. But buying the LN tool set for $250 and the SKF double-row bearing for $53 sounds like it could be a low-cost insurance plan, especially since the tools are a one-time sunk cost.
Old 01-04-2014, 01:30 PM
Macster
Race Director