Sponsored by:

Boxster purchase

Search this Thread

Old 05-14-2009, 06:00 PM
MrClifton
Instructor

Received 12 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Boxster purchase

With Boxster prices under $10,000 now for a well equipped 2000 I was wondering which options to look for. I am new to the Boxster world and do not know about the “Sport” options and the “leather options” and whatnot. Any help would be wonderful. Thanks, Neil
Old 05-15-2009, 11:58 AM
First986NJ
Racer

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Heated seats are really nice on a cool morning and extend the "top-down" season a little bit.

Sport exhaust has a nicer sound to it that the base, although if you are mechanical at all there are simple ways to modify the base exhaust and make it sound like the sport.

I've always thought the Porsche PCM Navigation system would have been nice to have, but I won't pay 2 or 3 grand to have it - my Garmin works just fine.

Don't worry too much about which sound system is in it - your more than likely going to upgrade it anyway - we all do.....

Most of the common options are more cosmetic than performance based.
Old 05-15-2009, 12:56 PM
gallileo
6th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Where are you finding 2000s for under 10k? I've been looking for months for the right car and even 97's are listing for ~13k, unless they are in absolutely horrible condition.

Old 05-15-2009, 01:12 PM
MrClifton
Instructor

It depends where you live I guess. There are 165 on Craigslist in my area and everyone is broke in this economy. Cash gets you a great deal on a low mileage luxury item. Now is not the time to pay retail for anything. You just have to be nice about it. What someone is willing to pay is the market not the asking price. I have seen 2002 65,000 mile cars at $12,000 sit for 8 months. That guy emailed me and will sell for $10,500. That was after just one conversation.
Old 05-15-2009, 02:30 PM
Ray S
Ironman 140.6
Rennlist Member

Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts

Originally Posted by MrClifton