Sponsored by:

Smoking Boxster question

Search this Thread

Old 07-15-2005, 11:17 AM
Drcevin
1st Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Smoking Boxster question

O.K. I'm a Newbie and i've looked at this forum and found a couple of mentions about a Boxster smoking at startup, but nothing definite. I want to thank you guys for taking the time to help a newbie.......did i mention that I LOVE THIS CAR, and as soon as I can get my wife out of it I will be driving it again! I'm sure you seasoned guys have heard this question a hunderd times but:

Is a boxster SUPPOSED to smoke at startup?

I bought a '98 with 15k miles about 4 months ago and never noticed it. When i went to start it up last week i could see a small cloud of whiteish colored smoke at start up only. I took it to the dealer and they said it was the "oil seperator" (what the heck does that do anyway?) and if they replaced that it would fix the problem. Well of course that didn't change a thing and it smoked at start up when i went to pick it up, so i left it there. I am now awating the next diagnosis and of course the bill that goes with it. SO, WHAT SHOULD I DO?? HELP A ROOKIE OUT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Old 07-15-2005, 12:11 PM
smshirk
Three Wheelin'

Mine smokes at start up commensurate with how long it has been since last started. If I don't drive it for a week it smokes for a several minutes at idle, but stops within about 200 feet after starting to move. If you aren't using or leaking oil and it stops after you get moving, i wouldn't worry about it.
Old 07-15-2005, 12:59 PM
deliriousga
Three Wheelin'

If it only smokes for a minute only at start-up, go pick it up, kick the dealer's mechanic in the rear-end and don't pay for any more diagnostics. It's normal and the dealer's mechanics should know that. Like smshirk said, it should be proportionate to how long it sits. The more time between starts, the longer it will smoke at start-up.
Old 07-17-2005, 09:22 PM
vegasgolf98
Racer