Sponsored by:

2001 Boxster Window and Roof Problem

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2019, 10:36 AM
jayg1234
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2001 Boxster Window and Roof Problem

Hi Guys, I'm new to this so please take it easy on me................

Whenever I open either door on my Boxster the windows both drop about 4 inches. They will not raise beyond this again using the window switches and will only close when I disengage and then re-engage the roof handle?

Other than this they operate as they should. The car was off the road a number of years before I recommissioned it and I wonder if a switch/relay/fuse maybe at fault?

As a side note, the roof is also not operating as it should, it would go down and not come back up - on inspection it was as if there was nothing stopping the motors spinning when it was fully down and then when it reached beyond its normal travel it would not come forwards again (this isn't such a big issue at the moment as I have the hard top fitted!)

Any help on either of these problems and whether they may even be linked would be greatly appreciated!
Old 01-31-2019, 11:52 AM
Macster
Race Director

Received 246 Likes on 217 Posts

Originally Posted by jayg1234
Hi Guys, I'm new to this so please take it easy on me................

Whenever I open either door on my Boxster the windows both drop about 4 inches. They will not raise beyond this again using the window switches and will only close when I disengage and then re-engage the roof handle?

Other than this they operate as they should. The car was off the road a number of years before I recommissioned it and I wonder if a switch/relay/fuse maybe at fault?