Sponsored by:

Boxster S or MB SLK350?

Old 03-04-2018, 08:18 PM
Maytag
Track Day

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Boxster S or MB SLK350?

Hey all:
As the title suggests, I'm in the market for a toy. Ready to buy this week, probably. I'm considering two cars, but neither are local to me, so I could use some opinion and comparison from people on this forum.
I've narrowed down to an '03 Boxster S, blue / tan, manual trans, 120k miles. Looks VERY nice, online. - OR - an '05 SLK350, green / beige, manual trans, 130k miles, looks near perfect online.

I'm a pretty fair mechanic, don't get scared easily. This car will be a toy, not my daily. And it may see an occasional track day in the summer (though it is not primarily a track car).

I'm an old- hand at Mercedes' mechanic-ing, having owned several over the years. My Porsche experience is limited to 4 weeks with an '06 Cayenne S. Too short a time to really get to know the car.

please chime in and give me your opinions.
as I said, I'm likely to buy early this week.
Old 03-05-2018, 10:30 AM
Quadcammer
Race Director

Received 1,368 Likes on 792 Posts

porsche for sport, mercedes for cruising. If you intend to go to any track days, I'd take the boxster
Old 03-05-2018, 10:45 AM
Anker
Instructor

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Originally Posted by Quadcammer
porsche for sport, mercedes for cruising. If you intend to go to any track days, I'd take the boxster
Agree 100%. I own both a Boxster and a Mercedes CLK 350.
Old 03-05-2018, 11:20 AM
Maytag
Track Day

Thanks for the response, guys.
Can the Boxster also "cruise"? or is it more specific to the sportier driving?
Old 03-05-2018, 05:36 PM
Anker
Instructor