Notices

What brake pads do you use for autocross?

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2015, 11:48 AM
911TTCAB
Racer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default What brake pads do you use for autocross?

I have a dual purpose dedicated track(DE)/autocross 996 and I am doing a brake overhaul this week. I am using Pagid Yellow RS19s for overall car balance on the track and longevity since I am new to the track.

I have stock 996 calipers and new Girodiscs which are larger than stock.

Maybe use a little more bite for those tight 180 turns? Maybe swap to a RS29 in the front for autocross?
Old 01-31-2015, 12:40 PM
PedalFaster
Pro

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

There are differing schools of thought, but personally I prefer a stock or stock-ish pad. There are no braking zones where you have to shed 50 mph in autocross; I'd rather take a tiny bit longer to slow down than to inadvertently scrub off 2 mph too much because I'm using a super grippy pad.

Last edited by PedalFaster; 01-31-2015 at 03:05 PM.
Old 01-31-2015, 02:06 PM
certz
Three Wheelin'

Received 66 Likes on 51 Posts

Agreed, stock pads. Hard, if not impossible, to build up enough heat in track pads to make them work right anyway.
Old 01-31-2015, 05:54 PM
knfeparty
Race Car

Received 33 Likes on 23 Posts

Ferodo DS2500s have good "cold" bite for a track/street pad but I'm in Florida. I think the pedal feel is better than a stock pad. I hear good things about all the Pagids though. If anything, go for more bite in the rear pads. Really heavy braking in autocross always overwhelms the tiny front tires, which have no weight over them anyways in a 911.
Old 01-31-2015, 06:12 PM
DOUGLAP1
Rennlist Member

Received 41 Likes on 30 Posts

+1 on stock pads for auto-x.

If you are swapping pads in and out with the same disc, you need to be concerned about compatibility of the compounds. If they are not compatible, you can get some very bad vibrations when they get hot at the track.