Porsche 996 aftermarket sound - Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Notices
Audio and Video Forum The place to discuss auto and home audio, home theater etc.

Porsche 996 aftermarket sound

 
Old 08-07-2012, 01:35 AM
  #1  
timmhaines
User
Thread Starter
 
timmhaines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Western USA
Posts: 100
Default Porsche 996 aftermarket sound

Porsche 2004, 911 996 Turbo, Custom dash to allow new Alpine INE-Z928, 8" touch screen, PXA-H800 processor control below.





Installed by Kartunes in Seaside
timmhaines is offline  
Old 08-14-2012, 06:39 PM
  #2  
SPDADCT
User
 
SPDADCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sunny Southern California, USA
Posts: 157
Default

That really looks good compared to the OE unit. Are there additional components such as amps and speakers?
SPDADCT is offline  
Old 08-17-2012, 10:22 PM
  #3  
rustymon
User
 
rustymon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Oregon
Posts: 397
Default

Nice - I was looking at that same unit. I can't tell from the photo - is there some sort of bezel or surround, or did it just fit into the hole? Any feedback you can give regarding its install would be greatly appreciated!

What sort of sound processing are you doing with the PXA-H800?

Last edited by rustymon; 08-17-2012 at 10:40 PM.
rustymon is offline  
Old 08-27-2012, 06:29 PM
  #4  
timmhaines
User
Thread Starter
 
timmhaines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Western USA
Posts: 100
Default System

Originally Posted by SPDADCT View Post
That really looks good compared to the OE unit. Are there additional components such as amps and speakers?
PXE-H800 processor, (2) PDX-V9 (left/right) and One PDX-F4 (mid bass), Alpine zx18t F1 tri way components front, z104 separates rear, 13w5 rear sub (13" sub fiberglass box), 6w3 front upper sub (modified oem).
timmhaines is offline  
Old 08-27-2012, 06:32 PM
  #5  
timmhaines
User
Thread Starter
 
timmhaines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Western USA
Posts: 100
Default

required building a steel mount and using the oem dash as the trim. Yes there is some cutting required on the inner dash support bracket, the one that attaches under the dash trim, other than that pretty straight forward.
timmhaines is offline  
Old 08-28-2012, 04:55 PM
  #6  
rustymon
User
 
rustymon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Oregon
Posts: 397
Default

Thanks for the feedback - so the unit actually fits in the dash trim/exterior hole, all the cutting is on the inside, correct? If so, I'll be adding one to my ride as well. Any info to share as to how you built the steel mount?

Originally Posted by timmhaines View Post
required building a steel mount and using the oem dash as the trim. Yes there is some cutting required on the inner dash support bracket, the one that attaches under the dash trim, other than that pretty straight forward.
rustymon is offline  
Old 10-12-2012, 02:37 AM
  #7  
timmhaines
User
Thread Starter
 
timmhaines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Western USA
Posts: 100
Default

Originally Posted by rustymon View Post
Thanks for the feedback - so the unit actually fits in the dash trim/exterior hole, all the cutting is on the inside, correct? If so, I'll be adding one to my ride as well. Any info to share as to how you built the steel mount?
Use a double din sleeve drill mounting screw holes to hold radio, weld steel brackets to sleeve to mount to existing dash screw mounts. cut inner dash trim to sit correctly over headunits outer edge assemble in car with trim on top brackets to dash install oem trim, build 1/4 trim spacer on top and attach to bottom of cupholder mechanism.
Hope this helps, I have seen other installs and they
all seem to stick out. Mine sits like the oem does. The 13" sub is in a custom fiberglass enclosure that replaces the panel behind rear seat as I have a rollbar there is no rear seat in the car. the sub fires backwards and the box is bolted to the oem rear aluminum frame, as the car is a cabriolet finjshed with oem carpet.
timmhaines is offline  
Old 10-12-2012, 02:44 AM
  #8  
timmhaines
User
Thread Starter
 
timmhaines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Western USA
Posts: 100
Default


Last edited by timmhaines; 10-12-2012 at 02:46 AM. Reason: pic not working
timmhaines is offline  
Old 10-12-2012, 02:48 AM
  #9  
timmhaines
User
Thread Starter
 
timmhaines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Western USA
Posts: 100
Default

Sub box
timmhaines is offline  
Old 10-12-2012, 02:54 AM
  #10  
timmhaines
User
Thread Starter
 
timmhaines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Western USA
Posts: 100
Default

timmhaines is offline  
Old 10-19-2012, 07:01 PM
  #11  
rustymon
User
 
rustymon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Oregon
Posts: 397
Default

Thanks for the info - really helps me visualize / plan for the work involved. Yours does look great and nice photo of your car as well on the outside!
rustymon is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Porsche 996 aftermarket sound


Contact Us About Us Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: