Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums (https://rennlist.com/forums/)
-   Audio and Video Forum (https://rennlist.com/forums/audio-and-video-forum-216/)
-   -   ac cables and line conditioners (https://rennlist.com/forums/audio-and-video-forum/689315-ac-cables-and-line-conditioners.html)

aussie jimmy 04-02-2012 09:16 PM

ac cables and line conditioners

ac cables and line conditioners;

has anybody got any experiences in this area that they would like to share?
was looking at the shunyata research hydra triton/talos, and am trying to gauge whether they are worth the investment, which can be quite substantial when you factor in the associated power cables.

:burnout: :corn:

Franklin229 04-04-2012 08:22 AM

I am no expert and have no experience with shunyata research but I am suspect of a lot of these devices. Not sure about you but where I live, the current coming off the grid fluctuates constantly, the wiring in my house ranges from 4 to 30 years old. AC is garbage in garbage out. A lot of these boxes are useless to me unless they stabilize the current. So I am weary of components that just say "filter", "power distribution" (fancy words for "it has many outlets"), "line conditioner". I would suggest buying something with a built in transformer/power supply that can give you steady and regulated AC. This may not be important for most amplifiers but it can affect front end gear like turntables, CD players, preamps, etc. Without doing this, I believe that it is a waste to buy expensive cables.

ltc 04-04-2012 09:58 AM

You don't design these devices to stabilize current, unless you want to play single tones.
These devices can augment an audio devices inherent PSRR (power supply rejection ratio), as well as provide a small increase in transient charge storage, but that is about it.

Of course, you should properly "burn in" your house AC wiring, but that is another story.

Franklin229 04-04-2012 10:36 AM