997 aftermarket amp between Bose amp and speakers. - Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Go Back  Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums > General Discussion Forums > Audio and Video Forum
Reload this Page >

997 aftermarket amp between Bose amp and speakers.

Notices
Audio and Video Forum The place to discuss auto and home audio, home theater etc.

997 aftermarket amp between Bose amp and speakers.

 
Old 10-28-2018, 07:29 AM
  #1  
HAAANK
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: OHIO
Posts: 15
Default 997 aftermarket amp between Bose amp and speakers.

After searching I couldnít find what I was looking for so I thought Iíd ask the specific question.

I dont yet yet own a 997 but that will be changing in the next month or two.

My intention is to add an aftermarket (JL Audio XD700/5) amp to the system in between the Bose amp and the speakers. Anyone done this with success?

Iím thinking this will work as the amp has preamp/speaker-level inputs as well as out puts, allowing me to route the speaker wire through the amp and add a sub without any problem. I did this in my 2010 Impreza and it worked like a charm.
HAAANK is offline  
Old 10-29-2018, 08:16 PM
  #2  
12v Nick
Basic Sponsor
Rennlist
Site Sponsor

 
12v Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 668
Default

Originally Posted by HAAANK View Post
After searching I couldnít find what I was looking for so I thought Iíd ask the specific question.

I dont yet yet own a 997 but that will be changing in the next month or two.

My intention is to add an aftermarket (JL Audio XD700/5) amp to the system in between the Bose amp and the speakers. Anyone done this with success?

Iím thinking this will work as the amp has preamp/speaker-level inputs as well as out puts, allowing me to route the speaker wire through the amp and add a sub without any problem. I did this in my 2010 Impreza and it worked like a charm.
The communication between the Bose amplifier and the in-dash PCM in a 997 is done over MOST Fiber-Optic. There's no way for your aftermarket amplifier to integrate with that signal without an interface module like the DA2 from Mobridge. You could also keep the original amplifier in place and use the outputs of the Bose amplifier into your new amplifier. Bare in mind this is a vastly different speaker configuration than your Subaru was and the Porsche will require channels 1-4 to be used on the front speakers Ė you'll lose rear speakers if you don't keep the Bose amplifier to power them.

You're alternative route, and the one I highly recommend, is to also replace the PCM with a new head unit. That way you no longer need to worry about fiber optics and you can use the rear channels on the radio to directly power the rear speakers. Not to mention the feature-based upgrades like Apple CarPlay/Android Auto that come along with that. There are a lot of other technical bits of info you need to execute this job properly, but feel free to ask me any questions that might help you along in the process!

óNick
__________________
Director of Porsche Product Development - Musicar Northwest

"I would rather be able to appreciate things I can not have than to have things I am not able to appreciate" - Elbert Hubbard
12v Nick is offline  
Old 11-03-2018, 09:32 AM
  #3  
HAAANK
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: OHIO
Posts: 15
Default


Originally Posted by 12v Nick View Post
The communication between the Bose amplifier and the in-dash PCM in a 997 is done over MOST Fiber-Optic. There's no way for your aftermarket amplifier to integrate with that signal without an interface module like the DA2 from Mobridge. You could also keep the original amplifier in place and use the outputs of the Bose amplifier into your new amplifier. Bare in mind this is a vastly different speaker configuration than your Subaru was and the Porsche will require channels 1-4 to be used on the front speakers Ė you'll lose rear speakers if you don't keep the Bose amplifier to power them.

You're alternative route, and the one I highly recommend, is to also replace the PCM with a new head unit. That way you no longer need to worry about fiber optics and you can use the rear channels on the radio to directly power the rear speakers. Not to mention the feature-based upgrades like Apple CarPlay/Android Auto that come along with that. There are a lot of other technical bits of info you need to execute this job properly, but feel free to ask me any questions that might help you along in the process!

óNick

Nick, thanks for the insight.

Iíve also heard that it is possible to set the PCM to non-premium audio which activates the RCA cables.

My preference would be to keep things looking stock, Iím not crazy about many of the aftermarket radios and use my phone for controlling audio any how. I treat the PCM like a preamp I guess.

As for channels, I had in mind not using the backseat speakers and running only the fronts and the sub.

Last edited by HAAANK; 11-03-2018 at 09:35 AM. Reason: More words
HAAANK is offline  
 


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us About Us Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: