Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Dash cam, to do or not to do...

Old 04-28-2017, 09:57 AM
Bskyoon
Instructor

Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Dash cam, to do or not to do...

Opinions please, is it worth it? How many of you are running front/rear cameras?

If I did I'm considering the Blackvue DR650S, saw Nick Murray's video on youtube and it looks like a sweet set up.
Old 04-28-2017, 12:30 PM
Quadcammer
Race Director

Received 1,368 Likes on 792 Posts

why do you want it?

I never saw the need for one, but I'm a pretty aware driver and i drive with the anticipation that everyone else is going to do something epically stupid at just about all times.
Old 04-28-2017, 01:58 PM
Rat3d M
Rennlist Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

It's on my mod "to do" list but is pretty low in my range of priorities (somewhere next to a Dension unit or upgraded head unit). They are cool to have, and good for insurance purposes, but realistically how often will you make use of it? I make car related YouTube vids from time to time, so that is realistically the only reason I am considering it (and of course insurance from accidents/vandalism).
Old 04-28-2017, 02:18 PM
Bskyoon
Instructor

Default I live in Florida...

I am also very defensive but there's only so much you can do especially down here. As far as why, as you said insurance, vandalism, parking lot hit and run, the usual obvious benefits. To be more specific $$ is not as big a priority as the PITA to install (if that's the case) since I like to do my own work. The big thing I'm wondering is if they've even been helpful in terms of when they're actually needed, i.e. catching a license plate, insurance claims, etc
Old 04-28-2017, 02:28 PM
996_soon
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts