Sponsored by:

Newbie Questions on PCCB

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2014, 08:57 PM
carlvr
6th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie Questions on PCCB

Hi all. For street use only. I like to know if it's really necessary. To bed in the brakes. I came across the procedure Porsche recommends in total911.com. How to bed in PCCB. Car i am looking at has 6,000 miles and never tracked. And don't know if this was already done or not.

Also, are the ceramics that fragile. That a stone can easily chip them. There's quite a few roads where i live. That are not in the greatest shape. Kicking up some stones would not be unusual. Not sure if i am posting in the right forum. Sorry if i am. Thanks.
Old 08-10-2014, 09:28 PM
aa909
Burning Brakes

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

I'm Not an expert but IIRC bedding the brakes is required when you install new pads or rotors to make sure the braking surface of the rotors and pads mate properly for maximum contact surface area. But if the car has 6K miles on the original brakes I'd say they're pretty much "bedded" at this point.
Old 08-11-2014, 10:04 AM
Terry Adams
Rennlist Member

Received 879 Likes on 526 Posts

^agree.

In heavy rain once, got some gravel in the wheel, but it was not a problem. Am at 83K on them now. New front pads at 74K, but rotors still perfect.

What was a problem, however, was that the first fraction of a second braking on wet PCCB rotors, there is no bite. Scary if you do not expect it first time, but you learn to know it's coming. Helps to tap the pedal lightly now and then to keep them dried out.

Other than that, love all the benefits.
Old 08-11-2014, 04:37 PM
Johnny DB
Rennlist Member

Received 126 Likes on 101 Posts

Would you mind posting pics of your rotors? Thanks

Originally Posted by Terry Adams
^agree.

In heavy rain once, got some gravel in the wheel, but it was not a problem. Am at 83K on them now. New front pads at 74K, but rotors still perfect.