Sponsored by:

Brumos Driving Experience Yesterday in my Turbo S

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2014, 10:39 PM
GatorMD97
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brumos Driving Experience Yesterday in my Turbo S

Had a wonderful time at the Brumos Driving Experience yesterday! I was lucky enough to have the legendary Porsche racer Hurley Haywood instructing my group. To have such a storied racing champion drive my Porsche and teach me a few things was incredible. The weather was cold and wet so we didn't get to run the quarter mile but the damp track and cold tires really helped me learn a lot about this amazing vehicle. I have very little track experience other than some strip time in my Viper and this is my first time using the GoPro on my car. I have attached a couple of pictures and videos from the event along with some comments.

Me with Hurley Haywood in front of my 2011 911 Turbo S

Me getting ready for a few hot laps in the 1991 IMSA championship supercar driven by Hurley Haywood. Others in the pictures are Don Leatherwood who is the director of the Brumos Museum and Nathan Nelson who is one of Brumos top Porsche techs.

Hurley Haywood driving my car around the figure 8. The weather was around 50 degrees and the track was wet with a light mist and occasional rain. For this exercise we turned off the PSM.

Me driving the figure 8 course with PSM off. I had a little to much throttle but that was the point of the lesson. When I lifted I got the classic Porsche oversteer but I was able to save it each time and not lose too much speed on this my final run. It was really cool to get out of the car and have Hurley give me a big thumbs up and say nice save.

Hurley Haywood driving my car on the short track. It's amazing how smooth his lines and throttle modulation are.